We’re Celebrating! (Updated with Deets)

One year ago today, Trav & I were in Hawaii.  We were trying to rent an SUV to get to the summit of Mauna Kea to “stargaze.”  Little did I know, this whole trip wasn’t about LOST or stargazing…

We made it to the top and talked about what it might be like to live in a place like that.  After all, there was a list of job openings and a handful of engineering positions were available (and I had concocted several of my own business ideas that would survive at the top of a mountain).

He pulled out my great grandmother’s engagement ring and said he wanted to buy the cow.

I freaked out and said yes.  Here we are…a whole year later…married and now living in Austin.

We just had champagne and an appetizer here at the house and now we’re looking for a new place to eat dinner.  More on that later…

We biked down to hopdoddy, a beer and burger bar right down the street.

The Bar at hopdoddy

Trav and I both got the Janis Joplin: a hemp seed veggie patty with avocado, tomato, onion, cheddar cheese and mustard.  We learned a hard lesson that night: their burgers don’t come with fries…you have to order them separately.  It was a bit of a buzz kill when our lonely burgers came out with no french fry friends.

nom nom nom

I liked all of the fixins on the burger but the patty itself was a little too soft for my liking.  I’ve had better veggie burgers.

We went home, ate ice cream and re-watched the episode of LOST that aired while we were in Hawaii last year (“Everybody Loves Hugo”).

It was a fantastic night.  Boy, time sure does fly!

This entry was posted in Celebrations Of All Kinds. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re Celebrating! (Updated with Deets)

  1. Mom says:

    2nd best day of my life – 1st was “producing” the girl! Travis -I couldn’t have designed it any better!

Leave a Reply

